The Missions Today


Today, 19 of the 21 missions are still Roman Catholic Churches. The remaining two (La Purísima and Sonoma) are California State Parks, and a third State Park is located next to Mission Santa Cruz. For a list of the 21 missions and information about each, click here.

All the missions are open to the public and welcome visitors, and most are open seven days a week. Each mission has a gift shop that sells a variety of books, postcards, religious materials and other interpretive products. We encourage everyone to visit the missions, enjoy their beauty, and learn about their contributions to California history.